School of Planning and Architecture, New Delhi.

Established : 1941

The School of Planning and Architecture had a modest beginning in 1941 as a Department of Architecture of Delhi Polytechnic. It was later affiliated to the University of Delhi and integrated with the School of Town and Country Planning which was established in 1955 by the Government of India to provide facilities for rural, urban and regional planning. On integration, the School was renamed as School of Planning and Architecture in 1959. Recognizing the specialized nature of the fields in which the School had attained eminence, in 1979, the Government of India, through the then Ministry of Education and Culture, conferred on the School of Planning and Architecture the status of “Deemed to be a University”. With this new status, the School has broadened its horizon by introducing new academic and extension programs and promoting research and consultancy activities.

The School is a specialized University, only one of its kinds, which exclusively provides training at various levels, in different aspects of human habitat and environment. The School has taken lead in introducing academic programs in specialized fields both at Bachelor’s and Master’s level, some of which are even today not available elsewhere in India. The School, in striving for excellence, has always been in the lead in extending education and research to new frontiers of knowledge. Human habitat and environment being the basic concern of the School, the spectrum of academic programs is being continuously extended by providing programs in new fields and emerging areas for which facilities are not available, as yet, anywhere else in the country.

Courses Offered:

Undergraduate Degree Programmes Postgraduate Degree Programmes Doctoral Programmes
Bachelor of Architecture Master of Planning in Environmental Planning
Bachelor of Planning Master of Planning in Housing
Master of Planning in Regional Planning
Master of Planning in Transport Planning
Master of Planning in Urban Planning
Master of Architecture in Architectural Conservation
Master of Architecture in Urban Design
Master of Architecture in Master of Industrial Design

Unit Council 2017


Associate Editor


Unit Coordinator

priyadarshani jha

Unit Treasurer

Shubham Bansal

Ex Unit Councils

Convention Unit Coordinator Unit Treasurer Associate Editor Unit Webmanager
XVIII convention (CityGram-online) Anshika Aggrawal Yatharth Saxena Harshit Varshney
XVII convention (Abhyudaya) at COE Pune Jwngma Basumatary Parth Maheshwari Anunay Chowdhary
XVI convention (Samavesh) at SPA Bhopal Disha Mendhekar Shamil Khedgikar Riya Gupta Naveen Bhaurah
XV convention (Anusandhaana) at IDS Mysore Puducheri Yaswanth Kumar Prakhar Nigam Arpit Batra
XIV convention (Credence) at SPA Delhi Imran Basha Soudagar A. K. Shobhit Verma
XIII convention (Ethos) at CEPT Ahmedabad Imran Basha Soudagar A. K. Shobhit Verma
XII convention (Equinox) at GNDU Amritsar Mandeep Singh Shobhit Verma
XI convention (Convergence) at SPA Delhi Prince Agrawal